Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Back Issue Sale finale: 28.1, 30.1 31.1

"Skyway C25" by zonefox

We're nearing the end of our Back Issue Sale! Next week, we'll start our Blue Light Trivia Contest, which means you have a chance to win a free back issue every week in July!

So, June is coming to a close, and that means fireworks and barbecues and hopefully sunshine galore. But check out that snazzy skyway to the left -- now where, oh where, is that in the present? Will we ever use trash as fuel? Self-adjusting, self-drying clothes would also be incredible. But since most of us don't have billions of dollars to invest in such inventions (I've been told hoverboards exist, with some limitations), we look to fiction instead.

And other literary imaginings!

Issue 30.1 (Summer 2008) has a fabulous Funk feature. Starting on p. 115, you can even see a flipbook-style animation on both pages as you continue to read (or flip). Aracelis Girmay's "Orpheus, When Your Voice Is Dressed In Jackal" is a funky work of beauty: "I could lose my loneliness tonight, / I could put it down / on a Sunday so good / I forget my name, leaving it panting / on the big, black street / as the stars eek out above us / humming gloria."

Issue 28.1 (Summer 2006) features Latina & Latino Writers. Diana Marie Delgado's language captivates in her poem, "In the Romantic Longhand of the Night": "Let's kneel on gravel, take apart the lace / of fruit, and blade the wool of gracious lambs / that kiss hard and eat the changing face / of meadows."

In Issue 31.1 (Summer 2009), Rachel May's story "Soon, Baby, Soon" begins:
Awe is when something is so splendid that you can't even say it, and your face goes all surprised, because you're seeing something so good you know it's not ever going to happen the same way again. Momma says awe and taught me how to use it, too. I'm nine and I know some big words like awe and marvel and wonder. At the beginning of summer, I asked Momma for some words that mean you think something is unbelievable and she gave me those, like candy from her palm.
There's so much more -- so many stupendous words -- in these issues than we can excerpt. Order here at $5/each before they're going, going, gone!


Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Issue 21.2

What's time travel without some perilous suspension from a clock tower?*

Now featuring: our oldest back issue in the sale! Issue 21.2, Fall 1999. The cover is black and white, sparse, a barnhouse in front of a thicket of thinning trees. Looking at the front, we can also see that the IR logo has certainly evolved from then to now. The quality of the content, however, is still remarkable; there's no obsolescence here. Though we may cringe to consider ye olde websites of 1999 -- you can check ours using the Wayback Machine! -- you might be surprised at what you find in this issue.

A few highlights: The cover advertises an interview with poet Li-Young Lee, one that offers a lot of insight into Lee's perspective and process. "The Rookery" is a captivating poem by Mary Biddinger about a speaker who "was stolen by a man and woman / who wanted me as their own." The landscape here is quietly electrifying. Paul Ketzle's story, "In Hammock Hills," looks at young boys in a familiar, comic light:
"In this place, a boy-only place, they were taller than their teachers, tougher than high schoolers; they farted, spat, and scratched privates through jeans unapologetically, and lived in their own large fantasies. Everyone here was Hulk-strong and Force-sensitive."
We have 15 copies available at $5 each! Order your copy now.


* Which reminds me: I'm saddened that Universal Studios Hollywood got rid of the Back to the Future Ride in 2007.

Monday, June 21, 2010

Issue 24.1 Writers of Color

Have you ever felt stunned like Doc and Marty here? Eyes bugging out, hair standing straight up?

Well, if you're looking for that kind of excitement, you've come to the right place. We are continuing our mad crazy Back Issue Sale. 25 copies (or less) of the following issues are now priced at $5: Issues 21.2; 24.1; 25.1; 27.1; 28.1; 29.1; 30.1; 30.2.

To find a complete table of contents for any of these issues, click here.

Today's highlight comes from 24.1 The Writers of Color Issue, released in Spring of 2002. This fine volume of IR contains poetry and shorts and stories by Nathaniel Mackay, Honoree Fanonne Jeffers, Terrance Hayes, Crystal Williams, Cornelius Eady, Mia Leonin, Reginald Shepard and many many more. I could keep going; this issue is jampacked with good reads. And every issue of the magazine comes also with an interview with John Keene and a 10 page spread of color prints beautiful artwork, including the work of William A. Rasdell.

But don't take my word for it: see this issue for yourself. Order Here.

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

Issue 30.2: This is heavy

 Photo via supercarnet

I think this is probably my favorite time machine. It's still one of my life goals, owning a DeLorean. I know that there are some diehard fans out there who have tricked up their DMC-12s, but I haven't (alas) seen one in person. Last I heard, they were being put back on the assembly line for a very pretty penny. Anybody have $57,500 to spare? Just look at those gull-wing doors.

Onto our issue highlight!

Issue 30.2: Winter 2008. The cover features penguins. A legion of penguins wearing ties! This issue doesn't go too far back, but it's one of my most-read issues. So much marvelous stuff here. Much of the work has an otherworldly feel to it, dark and funny and beautiful. To name a few of the recurring motifs -- cities, ice, and bears. (And now it sounds like there are ice-skating city bears. Sorry to disappoint.)

Kevin Prufer's poem "Transparent Cities" remains a favorite, recalling fairy tales: "I fell into a snow bank and didn't wake again, / but felt, in my few moments that remained, / the flush of childhood, / and saw (until my eyeballs bleared and wouldn't close) / the snow / like killing angels over me -- / windswirl and gasp, / in every hand a needle -- and then the sting as my dull flesh / chilled and wouldn't pulse again."

In this issue, Emily Raabe also casts a new angle to the Biblical tale of Jesus and Lazarus in her poem, "An Old Story." And Katie Umans considers the comical and disturbing possibility of ostrich-parents in her poem, "The Ostriches Take a Human Child."

Ted Sanders won a 2010 O. Henry Prize for his short story, "Obit," which we celebrated some time ago. The story is incredibly striking on the page, and I remember being amazed when I first read it. It defies chronology and it's haunting:
"The boy who falls asleep to the story of the bear will grow old and wordlessly die. In the end, he will die across his pancakes, coughing up blood at a restaurant in a distant town, blood freckling the arms and throat of his latest wife, the table, the dark stone floor where bright ice and dark water from his spilled glass will also fall. All of these events occur, and more. But the boy who will become this man is still young. He still lives in the yellow house where he was conceived..."
If you'd like to read more, get your copy here! We've got 25 issues available for $5 each! Remember to include "issue 30.2" in the description box.


Monday, June 14, 2010

On Congratulations, Hoverboards, and Issue 29.1

June continues with its hot n humid days, and here at IR with the air conditioner blasting in our faces continue with our flash to the past. You know, I really thought they would have invented Hoverboards by 2010. Alas (or thankfully), technology can't keep up with our imaginations. Thank goodness for the written word which turns our inward musings into a thing to be shared.

Today's highlight comes to us from the beautiful issue 29.1 (Summer 2007).  Its one of my favorite covers.

And between the covers are a great host of well-imagined poems, short stories, nonfiction, and a special highlight on the prose poem.  Alberto Rios, our final judge of the 2010 1/2 K Prize (hurry this contest is open for another 48 hours!) has both fiction and poetry in this issue.

There is a short story called "Ye Olde Twentieth Century" by Wendy Rawlings, that evocatively starts:
I have made a mistake. Not a leave-chewing-gum-in-your-pocket-and-put-it in-the-wash kind of mistake. More like leave-an-infant-alone-with-an-open-can-of-paint thinner. They got my ballpoint pens, Indiglo waterproof watch, plastic map case, Velcro-close shoes, condoms & KY. I still have my cell phone. That’s one consolation. And I have plenty of stuff. It’s not like being in jail and needing to fashion a weapon out of a singular fork. Victorians were the first great collectors. They collected animal bones, shells, postcards, hat pins. They collected hair and braided it into art. There is something so inherently wrong with that and yet Doreen finds it charming.

And Jeff Hoffman kicks of issue with his poem, "Victory Crowd," and to him we owe a Huzzah! Hip Hip Hooray because he was just awarded the 2010 New Issues Poetry Prize for his manuscript Journal of American Foreign Policy. Linda Gregerson, author of Magnetic North, judged. Congratulations Jeff! We look forward to seeing your published manuscript in 2011.

And Now 25 copies of 29.1 are on sale for the low low price of $5.00 Order Here and be sure to mark which issue you are requesting in the "Description Box" 


Wednesday, June 9, 2010

Great Scott!

Today, I'd like to highlight Volume 25, Number 1 -- our 25th anniversary issue from Summer 2003. It features the likes of Sherman Alexie, Marilyn Chin, Stuart Dybek, Mark Halliday, Michael Martone, and Gary Soto. There's also an interview with poet Lucia Perillo. It's quite an impressive tome at 290 pages (that's almost a hundred more pages than our most recent issue!).

The following authors are also featured: 

Julianna Baggott – Her most recent novel, Which Brings Me to You, is a confessional co-written with Steve Almond, Lizzie Borden in Love: Poems in Women’s Voices, and, most recently, The Pretend Wife, written as Bridget Asher.

Mary Jo Bang – Her book Elegy came out in 2007 from Graywolf Press, and has gotten some great reviews. She was also published in the March 30, 2009 issue of the New Yorker (here). She received the Guggenheim fellowship in 2004.
Terrance Hayes – He has published two books of poetry since his publication in IR: the well-known and reviewed Wind in a Box and, in March of this year, Lighthead, both from Penguin. He received a Guggenheim fellowship in 2009.

Ray Gonzalez –After his publication in IR, he has published Human Crying Daisies, The Religion of Hands, and Consideration of the Guitar.

We've got 25 back issues for $5 each! Order here and be sure to mark "25.1" in the Comments field.

Monday, June 7, 2010

Back Issue Sale!!! Highlighting the past

For the rest of the month of June on the blog, we will be doing a bit of time traveling while simultaneously hosting a back issue sale extravaganza here on the blog. We'll be highlighting some past issues, tracking down a few authors, seeing what they have been up to recently, and marking down the prices of journals past so that we can all enjoy the good work done by writers of the years before.

Today's Spotlight.

Volume 27 Number 1, Summer 2005: Collaboration/Collage Issue

With work from John Ashbery, Oliver de la Paz, Nick Flynn, Kenneth Koch, Ander Monson, Aimee Nezhukumatathil, and Reginald Shepherd (just to name a few), this thick issue features work which was conceived and brought to the page by more than one artist. This is one of my favorite back issues to page through. It delves into memory, prom, censorship, and even into "Erotocosmic Premonitions" (poem by Denise Duhamel and Timothy Liu). It's a multi-genre issue running the gamut from short stories to comics, translations to eye-catching visual collages, stage plays to fill in the blanks and poetry with footnotes.

This wide range of work all poke and probe at the questions of juxtaposition, of how artists work with other artists to create new art and imagine more deeply.

But you don't gotta take my word for it! There are 25 back issues marked at half price ($5) waiting for good homes on your coffee table or nightstand. Order here. When ordering, be sure to specify which issue you would like to receive in the mail in the Comments field.

Friday, June 4, 2010

Poetry, Poetry! Anouncements, Announcements!

2010 Indiana Review Poetry Prize Winner

“Soon Ghost”
Jonathan Rice
Kalamazoo, MI


“Ode to the Japanese Giant Hornet”
Andrew Kozma
Houston, TX

Our final judge was Aimee Nezhukumatathil. Ms. Nezhukumatathil’s most recent collection At the Drive-In Volcano (Tupelo Press 2007), won the 2007 Balcones Poetry Prize. Her awards include a 2009 fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Pushcart Prize. Her poetry has been anthologized in publications such as Language for a New Century (WW Norton) and Creative Writing: Four Genres in Brief (Bedford St. Martin’s).

Of Jonathan Rice's poem, "Soon Ghost," Aimee said, "This poem combines fable-song and panic into a seamless reverie of haunting lines, stacked with an original architecture of diction. I was instantly captivated by the animals charging through this poem and felt my heart race as my eyes moved down these pages.The poem leaps into another world and then back again and left me eager and hungry to read more from this author--I've already come back to it several times and it's never enough."

Thank you to Aimee Nezhukumatathil and a big THANK YOU to everyone who participated in our 2010 Poetry Prize Contest and making it such a success!

One more thing! Poetry and Nonfiction submissions will be closed starting June 11, 2010, a week from today! So if you have any poems or essays your hanging onto, now is the time to submit!

All IR Love,


Wednesday, June 2, 2010

Hello, June!

Photo: siyafrica

A few of the editors went out of town this weekend and escaped the mad Indy 500 rush. I was happy to come back to Bloomington and treat myself to some fine homemade ice cream from The Chocolate Moose, a local stand that is quite busy in the summer. (This is not a paid advertisement, but if you're ever in the area -- it's good.)

So now it's June: more frozen novelties, more storms, more humidity. Stand by for our 2010 Poetry Prize winner announcement! We're also making great headway through our fiction submissions, so fiction writers, get your stuff ready for our re-opening date on August 1. Aaaaand the 1/2 K Prize postmark deadline is now 13 days away!