Friday, January 14, 2011

2010 Fiction Prize Winner


Photo by Laura Stevens

The 2010 Fiction Prize: an incredible amount of submissions and some truly phenomenal writing.

Our joyful congratulations to Lones Seiber of Morristown, TN! His winning story, "Icarus," engaged both us and especially our esteemed judge, Dan Chaon, who had this to say about the piece: "Icarus has an impressive historical sweep, gliding convincingly and smoothly over large swaths of time.   At the same time, it's incredibly visceral and full of vivid imagery and shocking moments. Its portrait of people at the margins is bracingly bleak and emotionally intense, and deeply empathetic in a way that I found quite moving."

Congratulations also to our runner-up, Brad McLelland of Stillwater, OK, for his story, "The Beggars"!

And thank you, thank you, thank you, entrants and readers, for making this possible. Look out for our upcoming 2011 Poetry Prize!


No comments: